Surprising Foods to Avoid If You’re Allergic/Sensitive to Gluten

Anyone with an allergy or sensitivity to gluten knows to avoid food products with wheat, including bread, crackers, wraps, and baked goods. But there are other foods and beverages you may not even realize contain gluten. Check out our list below of items to watch out for.

Condiments

Gluten is everywhere. It sneaks up on you when you least expect it. So if you’re allergic or sensitive to gluten, you should definitely check the ingredients in the following condiments:

  • Soy sauce
  • BBQ sauce
  • Salad dressing
  • Cream sauces
  • Ketchup
  • Malt vinegar
  • Marinades

Ground Spices

Cross-contamination can happen in large factories, and it just so happens that many spices are made and packaged in facilities that also make products with gluten. In addition, ground spices like curry, turmeric, cinnamon, and paprika often have a tiny bit of flour added to prevent caking. Most herbs are safe, especially if they’re fresh, but you might want to be careful if they were created and packaged to last a long time.

Canned Soup

Unfortunately, if you’re gluten-sensitive, you’ll want to avoid canned or boxed soups, as many have wheat flour as a thickening agent to preserve the ingredients. Always check the nutrition labels before consuming.

Alcohol

Alcohol can be your friend after a long day at the office, but it may not be a friend to your digestive system. But it’s not just beer and ale that contain gluten. Whiskey, bourbon, and rye are also gluten carriers. Instead, stick to cider, wine, tequila, and rum. Omission and New Planet are some good gluten-free beer options, too.

Meat Substitutes

If you eat a vegan or vegetarian diet, you already have some restrictions on your diet. But if you’re gluten sensitive or allergic to gluten, you have even more limitations. For example, a lot of meat substitutes like vegan pepperoni, deli meats, hot dogs, and burgers contain gluten. Seitan is also on that list. Wheat gluten is a popular binding agent, and yeast extract adds flavor.

Pickles

As mentioned, malt vinegar and ale are not good for people who need to avoid gluten. Pickles sit in malt vinegar for a long time to get that sour or sweet flavor, and malt vinegar is directly derived from ale. In turn, ale contains wheat, circling it back to gluten. Does this mean you can’t have pickles? Not necessarily. If your pickles are brined in white vinegar or wheat-free vinegar, you’re in the clear. And, of course, you can also eat cucumbers any day of the week!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.